Troop 529's
Home Page
About Us
Adult Training
Eagle's Flight
Committee Chair Note
About the Committe
About the Leaders
Advantages of Scouts
Boy Scout Ranks
Order of the Arrow
Service Projects

Boy Scout Troop 529
(Mount Pleasant, South Carolina)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login

Unali'yi Lodge 236 - Charleston SC

Troop 529 has many scouts and adult leaders who are members of the local lodge.  We are very proud of our brothers!!

 Spring Ordeal May 2013
Julian Barton
Andrew Zimmerman

 Spring Ordeal May 2014
Kevin Bennett
Avery Bushkill
Cullen Orcutt
Mr. David Grant

 Spring Ordeal May 2015
William Busher
Kyle Carretta, Brotherhood May 2016
Brendan Fisher
Daniel Grant
Owen Martin
Ryan McDaniel,  Brotherhood Feb. 2016
Rory O'Toole
Ian Underkofler
Christian Zimmerman
Mr. Sean O'Toole
Mr. Don Zimmerman

Fall Ordeal October 2015
William Forni
Mr. George Forni

 Spring Ordeal May 2016
Anton Andales
Joshua Eckert
Jacob Luzzatto
Andrew Marx
Merritt Taylor
Mr. Kirk Taylor

Scouts and Leaders who are members of OA prior to joining Troop 529:
Conor Herlihy Fall 2010
Nicholas Zimmerman, Spring Ordeal 2009
Ethan Rabb
Andrew Luzzatto
Jackson Copploa
Mr. Andrew Fisher
Mr. Richard Puckett
Mr. Brendon Loiselle

Unali'yi Lodge 236

Unali'Yi Lodge 236–Charelston, SC serving the Coastal Carolina Council, BSA

Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow

Scouting’s National Honor Society

For more than 90 years, the Order of the Arrow (OA) has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives.  This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well.  Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others.  OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America's youth. 


The mission of the Order of the Arrow is to fulfill its purpose as an integral part of the Boy Scouts of America through positive youth leadership under the guidance of selected capable adults.


As Scouting’s National Honor Society, our purpose is to: 

  • Recognize those who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives and through that recognition cause others to conduct themselves in a way that warrants similar recognition.
  • Promote camping, responsible outdoor adventure, and environmental stewardship as essential components of every Scout’s experience, in the unit, year-round, and in summer camp.
  • Develop leaders with the willingness, character, spirit and ability to advance the activities of their units, our Brotherhood, Scouting, and ultimately our nation.
  • Crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others.


The Order of the Arrow was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America.  It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934.  In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the Boy Scouts of America.  In 1998, the Order of the Arrow became recognized as Scouting's National Honor Society when it expanded its reach beyond camping to include broader service to Scouting and the community.


The OA has more than 170,000 active members located in lodges affiliated with over 295 BSA local councils.