Troop 17's
Home Page

Boy Scout Troop 17
(Franklin, Virginia)
ScoutLander Contact Our Troop Member Login


BSA Troop 17

Welcome to Troop 17's website. Troop 17 was chartered by High Street United Methodist Church in 1913 and has been serving the youth of Southampton County, Virginia for the last 104 years. 

You may be asking "why my son should be involved in Scouting?". If you're looking for an activity to entertain your son when there is nothing more important to do, where you can just drop him off and go do other things, that sounds like daycare.

But, if you're looking for a fun activity that will change you son's life and help him become a leader as well as a better adult, where your involvement is vital, then Scouting is what you're looking for. 

A well-rounded boy should have involvement with his family, church, school, Scouting, music, and sports. Our program makes time for these other important commitments, and we hope that you as parents encourage your son to take full advantage of a variety of life's experiences while he is growing up, and not be too narrowly focused. 

 You can't get what Scouting offers anywhere  but Scouting!
It's more than fun - it's an Adventure!

Please contact us for more information with the above link.


             So, WHY SCOUTING?

Scouting is a GAME with PURPOSE - designed to develop the leaders of the future by focusing on:

* strong character
* good citizenship
* all-round fitness

The eight methods used by all good troops make Scouting unique:

* Scouting Ideals
(Promise, Law, Motto, Slogan)
* Patrol System
* Advancement
* Outdoor Program
* Adult Role Models
* Leadership Development
* Personal Growth
* Scout Uniform


Thank you to our sponsor, High Street United Methodist Church

Please visit the Colonial Virginia Council Newsletter

Bryan Fenters

Committee Chairman
David Benton

Assistant Scoutmasters
Tom Jones
Robin Mason
Eric Cooke
Mark Drumheller
Joe Edenfield
Ed Hull
Frank Jester                                  
Harold Burkett
                          Raye Moore                          
Lewis Brown, Sr
Dan Johnson
Lynn Powell
David Hall
Bill Scarboro
Ben Scarboro
Joe Belmonte

Committee Members
Bess Kannan
Jimmy Strozier
Kent Stephenson
Anita Harris
Bill Peak
Jerry Vick